Hoag remains safe and ready to care for you. View COVID-19 information and updates.

Hoag’s Newest Endowed Chair

Hoag’s commitment to innovation has led to a new twist on the traditional. It has adopted the endowed chair model, traditional in academia but rare in a community health care setting. By doing so, Hoag is providing a dynamic tool to its clinical leaders to advance their specialties.

Endowed chairs enhance the reputation of the organization, which serves to attract renowned clinicians and staff. They also provide financial resources to fund innovative approaches and programs.

Our community is blessed with visionary donors who embrace Hoag’s vision of supporting leading physicians in advancing care.

Supporting Women’s Health

In fall 2016, Hoag Hospital Foundation held an endowed chair investiture ceremony, which featured an honorary “white coat” processional of Hoag physicians to recognize the appointment of Allyson M. Brooks, M.D., chief quality officer at Hoag, as the Ginny Ueberroth Executive Medical Director Endowed Chair, Hoag Women’s Health Institute. The event honored the generosity and steadfast commitment of visionary donors, Ginny and Peter Ueberroth.

The gift from Ginny and Peter Ueberroth recognized and honored Dr. Brooks for her work in expanding health care options, education and access for women across Orange County. “I’m hoping that the impact of our gift will be that women have better health care,” said Ginny Ueberroth. “And that they will take better care of themselves and take advantage of all that Hoag has to offer.”

11 and Counting

Hoag now has 11 endowed chairs which are enabling the organization to expand and improve programs in cancer, cardiac care, memory loss and cognitive impairment, neurosciences, cardiovascular surgery, gastrointestinal disease, diabetes, breast care and women’s health services. Supporting Hoag’s extraordinary leaders with endowed chairs is a key fundraising priority of Hoag Promise, Our Campaign to Lead, Innovate & Transform.

Hoag Hospital Foundation’s 11 Endowed Chairs:

Benjamin & Carmela Du Endowed Chair in Urologic Oncology

Current Chair Holder: Jeffrey S. Yoshida, M.D.

Joan & Andy Fimiano Endowed Chair in Orthopedic Surgery

Current Chair Holder: James T. Caillouette, M.D.

Gross Family Foundation Endowed Chair in Oncoplastic Breast Surgery

in honor of Dr. Melvin J. Silverstein

Current Chair Holder: Melvin J. Silverstein, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Grace E. Hoag Executive Medical Director Endowed Chair, Hoag Family Cancer Institute

Current Chair Holder: Burton L. Eisenberg, M.D.

Dr. Kris V. Iyer Endowed Chair in Diabetes Care

Current Chair Holder: Daniel A. Nadeau, M.D.

James & Pamela Muzzy Endowed Chair in Cardiovascular Surgery

Current Chair Holder: Aidan A. Raney, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.A.C.C.P., F.A.C.C.

James & Pamela Muzzy Endowed Chair in GI Cancer

Current Chair Holder: John C. Lipham, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Robert & Georgia Roth Endowed Chair for Excellence in Cardiac Care

Current Chair Holder: Dipti Itchhaporia, M.D., F.A.C.C.

Ron & Sandi Simon Executive Medical Director Endowed Chair, Pickup Family Neurosciences Institute

Current Chair Holder: Michael N. Brant-Zawadzki, M.D., F.A.C.R.

Ginny Ueberroth Executive Medical Director Endowed Chair,

Hoag Women’s Health Institute

Current Chair Holder: Allyson M. Brooks, M.D., F.A.C.O.G.

Judy & Richard Voltmer Endowed Chair in Memory and Cognitive Disorders,

Pickup Family Neurosciences Institute

Current Chair Holder: William R. Shankle, M.S., M.D., F.A.C.P.

For more information about Hoag Promise, Our Campaign to Lead, Innovate & Transform, please visit www.HoagPromise.org.